Last night The Arc honored Representative Robyn Gabel as our 2014 Legislator of
the Year! The event was hosted by Ann Sickon, Executive Director of Center for
Independent Futures and her team. It was a great event. Thank you Ann and my
friends at CIF!

My comments on Rep Gabel and her award:

“We are gathered here to honor and recognize the leadership and advocacy of
Rep Robin Gabel.

“She is the Chairperson of the House Human Services Committee and the Vice
Chairperson of the House Human Services Appropriations Committee.

“She is looked to by her legislative peers as an expert on Disability and Human

“As a legislator, she knows no fear and is ready to challenge and oppose unjust
legislation that would harm individuals with disabilities.

“She is a courageous champion for inclusive education, community living, all of
human services and access to health care.

“When it comes to The Arc, her door is always open to us. She is our “go to”
She is often our lead sponsor on important Arc Legislation including Special
Education and Disability Legislation. This past year she was the Chief Sponsor for
the Care Campaign’s Legislation to increase wages for Direct Care Professionals!

This is why we are gathered here today to honor and recognize the leadership of
Representative Robyn Gabel as The Arc’s Legislator of the Year!”

A large crowd attended with many public officials including Senator Daniel Bill,
Michael Gelder and Mark Doyle from the Governor’s Office, Michelle Saddler,
Secretary of the Dept. of Human Services, Director Kevin Casey and
Commissioner Larry Suffredin.

Arc Representative included Nora Fox Handler, Arc Board; Faye Manaster,
Director of the Family to Family Health Information Center; Cynthia Justice and
Shirley Perez, Executive Director of the Family Support Network; Katherine
Hamann, Director of the Family Transition Project and Ligas Family Advocates
Kimberly Evans and Toni Howard.

Here are some pictures of the event for Representative Gable.

Rep Gabel
Faye Manaster, Rep Gabel, Tony,Shirley Perez, Ann Sickon, Katherine

Shirley, Senator Bill, Katherine, Kim Evans, Toni Howard

Shirley & Director Casey

Cynthia Justice, Nora Handler, Shirley, Toni, Kim

Tony Paulauski
Executive Director
The Arc of Illinois
20901 S. LaGrange Rd. Suite 209
Frankfort, IL 60423
815-464-1832 (OFFICE)
815-464-1832 (CELL)