Care providers for people with disabilities deserve a raise!
It’s that time of year again and the disability community is working hard on so many important
legislative efforts.

Critical within those efforts is the Care Campaign’s struggle to increase wages for Direct
Support Professionals… the folks we most often refer to as “DSPs”.

Without quality DSPs, very few of our important and ambitious dreams for our loved ones
can happen.

Maybe you or your family member is already receiving services. Maybe your family member’s
name has been “selected” from the PUNS and she/he has just received the magical “Invitation
to Apply”. Maybe you are just waiting and waiting.

No matter where your loved one is in the “system”, the folks who support our loved ones on a
day-to-day basis are the underpinning of that system.

Did you know that our DSPs have not received a wage increase since

Did you know that they are paid on average 21% BELOW the poverty level? Here’s a fact
sheet: Care Campaign Flyer w/Graph

And here’s an incredible blog that helps explains the top ten reasons why we should increase
wages for DSPs by $1/hour this year:

DSPs are the Backbone of the DD System….. THEY Need OUR Help

Governor Quinn’s Proposed FY15 Budget includes a $1/hour raise for DSPs starting January

Legislation in both the Illinois House of Representatives and the Illinois Senate has been
introduced and has a growing number of co-sponsors.

Current  Senate co-sponsors of SB 2604  are Sen. Heather A. Steans, Sen. Mattie Hunter,
Sen. Daniel Biss, Sen. Julie A. Morrison, Sen. Dan Kotowski, Sen. Toi W. Hutchinson, Sen.
Iris Y. Martinez, Sen. Jacqueline Y. Collins, Sen. James F. Clayborne, Jr., Sen. Mike Jacobs,
Sen. John G. Mulroe, Sen. Bill Cunningham, Sen. John M. Sullivan, Sen. Patricia Van Pelt,
Sen. Steve Stadelman, Sen. Kirk W. Dillard, Sen. Michael W. Frerichs, Sen. Michael Noland,
Sen. David Koehler, Sen. Pat McGuire, Sen. Michael E. Hastings, Sen. Wm. Sam McCann,
Sen.Melinda Bush, Sen. William Delgado.
Current House co-sponsors of HB 3698 are Rep. Robyn Gabel, Rep. Lawrence M. Walsh, Jr.,
Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch, Rep. Laura Fine, Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy, Rep. Cynthia Soto, Rep.
Elizabeth Hernandez, Rep. La Shawn K. Ford, Rep. Monique D. Davis,  Rep. Elgie R. Sims,
Jr., Rep. Sue Scherer, Rep. Esther Golar, Rep. Mike Smiddy, Rep. Kenneth Dunkin, Rep.
Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Rep. Raymond Poe, Rep. Eddie Lee Jackson, Sr., Rep. Rich Brauer,
Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia, Rep. Camille Y. Lilly, Rep. Kathleen Willis

You can click on the bill numbers above to see updated co-sponsor lists. We hope they will
be changing often!

This is How YOU can Help…

Identify your Illinois State Senator and Representative by clicking on this link.

Call your State Representative and ask him or her to co-sponsor HB 3698
Call your Illinois State Senator and ask her or her to co-sponsor SB 2604

This is way easy….. just say:

“Representative or Senator X,  My name is _________. I live in __________. I have a son
(or daughter, sister, brother, aunt, uncle) who has significant disabilities. Your support is
very important to his (her) future. Direct Support Professionals have not had a raise in six
years. On average, they are paid 21% below the poverty level. Please support them and my
son (or daughter, sister, brother, aunt, uncle) by becoming a co-sponsor of SB 2604 (or HB

You can offer to e-mail them the link to this flyer from above: Care Campaign Flyer w/Graph.

IF they are a co-sponsor already, call them anyway. THANK THEM for their support. They will
be asked to prioritize their support many times before the end of the May. They need to be
telling their party leaders that this IS a high priority.

Help us by forwarding this e-mail your networks of advocates in your community. Follow up
personally with at least 10 other advocates you know will follow through. Remember , our
legislators think 10 contacts are a landslide.

Let me know what you have done…. e-mail either one of us at

Our futures depend on each other. Please help.

Thank you!

Charlotte Cronin, Daniel’s mom
Nicole Jorwic, Christopher’s sister

Tony Paulauski
Executive Director
The Arc of Illinois
20901 S. LaGrange Rd. Suite 209
Frankfort, IL 60423
815-464-1832 (OFFICE)
815-464-1832 (CELL)

Copyright © , All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:

Copyright © , All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is: